StallPOS. WhatsApp Us
Buyer's guide · October 2026

How to choose a POS system for your Singapore hawker stall (2026 guide)

You run one stall, maybe one helper, and a phone. Most POS marketing is written for restaurants, not stalls. This guide covers what a stall actually needs, the real costs, what "free" and "no commission" mean in the fine print, and what to ask before signing.

Disclosure: StallPOS is a POS system for Singapore hawker stalls and coffee shops, so we compete with some of the companies on this page. Facts about other vendors come only from their own websites (October 2026). Where a vendor publishes no price, we say so — that is not a judgement.

What does a hawker stall actually need from a POS?

A stall is not a small restaurant: no cashier station, no waiter, no spare counter. Four things do the real work:

Bigger suites sell what a single stall rarely needs on day one — multi-outlet inventory, loyalty campaigns, delivery sync, table-service handhelds. Useful later; inflating the bill now. Check early: GrabFood integration is published by MEGAPOS and iMakan on their own sites, and card payments are not taken by every system.

How much does a hawker POS really cost in Singapore?

Every POS bill has three layers: software (monthly subscription), hardware (device and setup) and payments (the merchant discount rate, MDR, and any order commission). A vendor can make any layer look cheap by charging in another. What Singapore vendors publish, October 2026:

VendorSoftware price they publishBuilt for hawkers?Read the fine print (their own pages)
HawkerOnlineS$0 software — "No monthly or annual software subscription" (POS + self-ordering add-on)Yes — the whole product is hawker-onlyHardware, setup and other services quoted separately; payment processing "follow their own terms and fees"
RewardlyNEA-licensed hawker S$39/month; non-NEA S$59/month (Growth); Professional from S$99/month; Flexi "from S$0"Yes — dedicated hawker pageFlexi bundles hardware rental, paid via MDR — rate not stated on their website
EightPOSBasic S$60/month; Plus S$90/month; Pro "SGD TBC/month"No — generic F&BAdd-ons: QR self-ordering +S$40/mo, kiosk +S$90/mo, KDS +S$20/mo; hardware prices not stated
Qashier"Everything included. $5 a day"; SLIM terminal "$1.50 a day" (snippet-level — their site blocks reading)No — F&B including food stallsOwn support article (as quoted in search snippets): 24-month commitment; 2-year tenancy or S$500 deposit; billed daily from payouts
EPOS (EPOS360)"Less Than S$1K After Grants!"NoPre-grant prices not stated on their homepage
MEGAPOSNone publishedNo"Almost 0% PayNow Transaction Rates" — no figures published
iMakanNo pricing page existsNo — QR ordering and kiosks"Low payment fees" — no figures published
Eats365None; "only pay for what you need"No"Free for 14 days — all features... no payment required"
ChaChaChaNot stated on their websiteNo — full POS for F&B, retail and salons—

Sources: the vendors' own websites, October 2026. "Not stated on their website" is a fact, not a judgement. Two asides from their own sites: MEGAPOS and iMakan share an office address (160 Robinson Road); Rewardly and HawkerOnline publish the same WhatsApp number (+65 9739 0150).

On hardware, ask what device it runs on and who owns it. Rewardly says its system "runs on your phone, Apple or Android", with SoftPOS tap-to-pay and no extra hardware. HawkerOnline quotes devices, installation and training separately — its pricing page puts it plainly:

"Free software does not mean a free complete setup." — HawkerOnline pricing page

The most honest line in the category — and it applies to every "free" offer: get the year-one total in writing before comparing anything.

What does "no commission" really mean — and who holds my money?

Three very different things get called "no commission":

  1. Your bank's static PayNow QR — genuinely no commission, but no menu, no tickets, no numbers. A payment method, not a system.
  2. QR ordering with PayNow direct to your bank — monthly fee, money straight into your account. No per-order commission, but the software is not free.
  3. Payments through the vendor's merchant account — the customer's money lands with the vendor first, then is paid out to you minus fees, sometimes minus your subscription. This is where "cheap" quietly lives: Qashier's support article describes its S$5/day plan billed daily from your payouts. MEGAPOS and iMakan publish no payment figures; Rewardly's Flexi MDR, EPOS's homepage MDR and HawkerOnline's payment terms are not stated on their websites.

The question that cuts through the marketing: whose account does the money land in first, and when do you get it? If a vendor cannot answer in one sentence, the answer is in the fine print.

Can you change your own menu — or must you call the vendor?

Every stall changes: a price goes up, a dish sells out, a new item appears. Some systems let you edit items, prices and photos yourself from your own phone. Others route every change through the vendor — a support ticket, a WhatsApp message, sometimes a fee per change. Neither way is wrong, but you should know which you are buying before a Saturday price change depends on it. Ask:

The same question applies to equipment: a rented terminal usually runs only its vendor's software — fine while you stay, so ask what the device can do if you ever switch systems. With us (StallPOS), menu changes are done by messaging us on WhatsApp — we built the service around doing it for you rather than selling you a portal. If self-serve editing is a must-have today, tell us and we will say honestly whether we fit.

Can a government grant help pay for it in 2026?

Grant rules changed in 2026 — some vendor pages are out of date. From the official pages (October 2026):

No grant promises from anyone — including us. Verify eligibility on the official Enterprise Singapore pages (enterprisesg.gov.sg), not a brochure. Some vendors' grant pages (MEGAPOS's and iMakan's, for example) still describe PSG, closed to new applications since 29 September 2026.

So how do I decide? A checklist for my stall

Where does StallPOS fit — and where it honestly doesn't

We are one of the companies on this page, so here is our slot, plainly: StallPOS for stalls is QR ordering and POS built at a real stall — our own 4 MEE noodle stall has run it daily since September 2026.

What's included — free to start, 30-day live trial, then S$58/month per stall
  • QR ordering in English and Chinese (Thai demonstrated at our own stalls)
  • Kitchen screen with voice alert on confirmed payment
  • Owner dashboard — paid orders only, cash versus PayNow
  • PayNow straight to your own bank — no commission from us
  • Free to start: build your menu yourself, no time limit; 30-day live trial when you go live; then S$58/month per stall — month-to-month, cancel anytime
What we honestly do not do today
  • Card payments — not in the product today
  • Delivery-platform sync (GrabFood and the rest) — not today
  • Printed receipts and loyalty programmes — not today
  • The walk-up counter cashier is in build (it runs at our own stall)
  • If those are must-haves now, an integrated provider may fit you better — we would rather tell you than sell you

Running a whole coffee shop? That is our coffee-shop system — one QR per table, each stall keeps its existing POS and sees its own orders; pricing discussed, not published: /coffeeshop. The full stall product, live demos, the free start and every cost question answered: /stalls and /pricing.

Boss questions · 老板的问题

Frequently asked questions

Do I need to buy expensive machines? 要买贵机器吗?

Not necessarily. Rewardly says its system runs on your own phone, Apple or Android. StallPOS (us) runs on your own compatible Android phone or tablet — you own it, and we confirm compatibility before you commit to anything. HawkerOnline quotes hardware and setup separately from its S$0 software — ask for the written total either way.

Is "S$0 software" really free? 真的是免费吗?

The subscription can be — but as HawkerOnline's own page puts it, "Free software does not mean a free complete setup." Hardware, setup and payment fees are usually separate, and "from S$0" plans (Rewardly Flexi, Qashier's S$5/day from payouts — snippet-level) are paid through your payments instead. Compare year-one totals, not headlines.

Can I take PayNow with no commission? PayNow 要佣金吗?

Your bank's static PayNow QR charges no commission — but gives you no ordering, tickets or numbers. Systems that point PayNow at your own bank charge a monthly fee instead of a commission. Where money routes through a vendor's merchant account, ask for the rate in writing — several publish none.

Is there still a hawker grant in 2026? 2026年还有小贩津贴吗?

The hawker-specific Hawkers' Productivity Grant closed its last phase on 31 March 2026 and is not open to new applications as of October 2026. PSG closed on 29 September 2026, replaced by the EDGE Grant from 30 September 2026. Whether POS qualifies under EDGE is not stated on the official page — check bizsg.gov.sg.

Questions to ask any vendor (including us)

  • What is the written year-one total — software, hardware, setup, training, payment fees?
  • Whose bank account does the customer's money land in first, and when is it paid out?
  • What exactly is charged when you say "no commission" or "low rates"?
  • Is there a contract, and how do I cancel? (Some run 24 months.)
  • Does it run on my own phone or tablet, and who owns the device?
  • Who can edit my menu and prices — me, or a support ticket — and what does each change cost?
  • Which languages do my customers see when ordering?
  • What happens at 12.45pm if the system is down?
  • Which parts of your grant claim apply today — and where on the official government page?

Whichever system you shortlist, watch one run at a real stall first — you can watch ours at stallpos.com/stalls; the coffee-shop concept is at stallpos.com/coffeeshop.

More plain-English guides